New Year is Not Celebrated on 1st January in These 5 Countries

By Monalisha Mallick

  ●   30 Dec 18

City & Culture



Do you know not all countries and cultures celebrate New Year’s Day on January 1? Most of the countries follow the Gregorian calendar, with 365 days, or 12 months in a year, and leap years to boot.  The year ends on December 31 and begins on January 1. But there are several countries and cultures that celebrate New Year later in the year and not on 1st Jan.  These countries and cultures follow solar, lunar, and other hybrid calendars. Here is the list of 5 countries that do not follow the Gregorian calendar:

5 Countries That Do Not Celebrate New Year’s Day on 1st January


Chinese New Year

Chinese New Year is celebrated in first week of February. For 2019, the date is on Tuesday, 5 February. Chinese New Year is also known as Spring Festival or Lunar New Year and the day signifies the beginning of the spring harvest season. Colorful dragons, roadshows, lanterns, and fun activities can be seen across the country.


India New Year

Every State of India celebrates New Year as per local calendar on 14th or 15th April. For eg: West Bengal celebrates it on 14th or 15th April and it is known as Bengali New Year (Pohela Boishakh) where as Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh and few other southern states celebrate New Year on 6th April and the day is known as Ugadi and Puthandu respectively. In Maharashtra state, New Year is celebrated on 14th April and the festival is locally known as Gudi Padwa.

Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka new Year

Sri Lanka celebrates on 14th April. Also known as Sinhalese New Year or Aluth Avurudda, the day marks the end of the harvest season.  Sri Lankans keep their front doors open this day to encourage visits by family, friends, and even welcome strangers.  Food is the highlight of the day with local delicacies taking over and giving a taste of actual Sri Lankan cuisine.

UAE, Saudi Arabia, & other GCC countries

Islamic New Year

Most of the GCC countries celebrate New Year as per Islamic Calendar. The date for the Islamic New Year or Raʼs as-Sanah al-Hijrīyah changes every year. For 2019, the Raʼs as-Sanah al-Hijrīyah falls on 30th and 31st August. The day celebrates emigration of Prophet Mohammed from Mecca to Medina, known as Hijra.


Korean New Year

Many South East Asian countries celebrate on the Lunar New Year.  In Korea, the celebration is a three day affair with families offering Thanks to a lovely year that past by.  Falling on 5th February in 2019, Seollal or Korean New Year is a grand affair where the locals wear the traditional dress hanbok and celebrate the day with everyone.

Do you celebrate New Year on 1st of January or have local dates for the celebration? We are eager to know.


Monalisha Mallick

Creative soul. Writer. Traveler. Monalisha is infinitely curious about the world. When not answering questions about her career choice (graduation in Engineering and profession in writing), she enjoys going out to experience new places, savor fresh cuisines, meet people (many time weird) and soak in the culture from different eras and places.

Popular Things to do

Popular Cities

Home Explore

New Year is Not Celebrated on 1st January in These 5 Countries