The Seven Mosques

●   # Rank
●   Mosques
●   Mosques

The Seven Mosques, also known as Saba Masajid, are a collection of six basic, historically significant, and frequently visited mosques in Medina, Saudi Arabia. The Battle of Trench has a long-standing connection to each of the six mosques because these mosques were constructed on the same site of the battle. Although the name 'Sab'ah' means 'seven,' the site only has six mosques today because it previously included the Masjid Al-Qiblatayn. All six mosques are arranged systematically from north to south.

6 Mosques are as follows:

- Al-Fath Mosque

The greatest mosque of them all can be found on the western side of Mount Sala. According to legend, the Prophet had prayed in this mosque during the Battle of the Trench, which the Muslims won. This is why the mosque is named 'Al-Fath,' (in Arabic, 'Fath' or 'Fatah' means 'conquest' in the Islamic context). During Caliph Umar bin Abdul Aziz's reign, the mosque was constructed and Saifuddin Abu al-Hija, a minister under the Sharifate of Mecca, restored it in 1154. A panoramic view of the entire battlefield is presented from the peak where the mosque is situated.

- Salman Al-Farsi Mosque

In honor of Salman Al-Farsi, who oversaw the construction of the trenches during the Battle of the Trench, this location is 20 meters south of Al-Fath Mosque. A companion of the Prophet Muhammad, Salman the Persian, suggested building a trench to protect the city from an assault. That's why this mosque was given its name. The mosque's diminutive size, with just one hall measuring 7 meters long and 2 meters broad, is a noteworthy aspect. Just like the Al-Fath mosque, this mosque was also constructed during Caliph Umar bin Abdul Aziz's reign, and Saifuddin Abu al-Hija, a minister under the Sharifate of Mecca, restored it in 1154.

- Abu Bakr As-Siddiq Mosque

The Salman Al-Farsi Mosque is 15 meters to the southeast of this location. It was said that Abu Bakr offered the Eid prayer there while he was Caliph. This mosque was given its name for this reason. Al-Fath Mosque, Salman Al-Farsi Mosque, and Abu Bakr As-Siddiq Mosque were all dismantled and rebuilt into a single, larger mosque.

- Ali bin Abi Talib Mosque

It is situated on a tiny hill to the south of the Fathima Az-Zahra Mosque. This mosque is 6.5 meters wide and 8.5 meters long. Ali reportedly participated in the Battle of the Trench at this location. As a decoration for the modest structure, the local authority of Medina is currently refurbishing this mosque while preserving its original shape.

- Fatima Az-Zahra Mosque

It is a small mosque, 4x3 meters in size, attached to the others. Sultan Abdulmejid I oversaw this mosque's construction during the Hejaz Vilayet's Ottoman era.

- Umar bin Khattab Mosque

The mosque Abu Bakar As-Siddiq lies 10 meters to the south of this location. It is said that Umar Ibn Al-Khattab, the second Caliph, may have prayed there. That is why the mosque was given that name. Because this mosque is located at a higher elevation and resembles Al-Fath Mosque in appearance, it is assumed that they were both constructed and reconstructed in the same period. The mosques lack décor but are purely functional.

  • imageDuration Required
    2 hours

Address of The Seven Mosques

As Sih، 7075, 3423, Al-Madinah al-Munawwarah 42312, Saudi Arabia

Opening & Closing time of The Seven Mosques

  • Monday
    Open 24 Hours
  • Tuesday
    Open 24 Hours
  • Wednesday
    Open 24 Hours
  • Thursday
    Open 24 Hours
  • Friday
    Open 24 Hours
  • Saturday
    Open 24 Hours
  • Sunday
    Open 24 Hours

Explore More