Gare du Midi

The old Art Nouveau railway station in town is now a performance venue, as well as the tourism office. Find out more about the mastermind behind this structure and its intricate details: 

In 1906, work on the Gare du Midi was started by the architect Adolphe Dervaux, who was also responsible for constructing the train station in Rouen. When approaching Arudy, visitors are greeted by an impressive stone facade; the mosaics found inside were created by the Maumégean brothers. 

  • Gain an understanding of the significance of the site being christened: 

The same line of reasoning can be applied to the origin of the name 'Brussels-Midi,' as the Midi region of France or southern France was the final destination of trains that departed from this station. The name Brussel-Zuid, the Dutch equivalent of the French name Bruxelles-Midi, was first used after the adoption of the equality law in the year 1898. 

  • Explore its past and the many roles it has played throughout its existence, such as the following: 

After the line was electrified in 1925, a shuttle service was established to connect Biarritz to the Gare de la Négresse. This service contributed to the Gare du Midi's gradual decline in popularity. The last train left the station in September of 1980. The impressive building, which had been abandoned for several years and was given the name 'Palais des Festivals' in 1990, boasts a theatre with space for 1,400 individuals to sit and a stage that is 600 square meters in size. It was renovated in 1991 and now hosts events and festivals throughout the year. An auditorium with a capacity of 1394 people can be found behind a 'Art Nouveau' façade and through a sumptuous lobby.The National Choreographic Center studios, directed by Thierry Malandain / Ballet Biarritz, are also located at the Gare du Midi.  

  • Take note of the distinctive characteristics that give the station its distinguished status and reputation: 

In recognition of the advancements in railroad technology, a statue of Nikè, the Greek goddess of victory, was erected atop the station's roof. In 1949, after the North-South connection had been constructed, the old station was demolished, and a new one was constructed. The train tracks on the station's roof were connected to the Brussels-Kapellekerk station by a bridge. Beginning in the 1990s, the station went through an extensive modernization process to accommodate high-speed trains. 

  • imageDuration Required
    1 hour

Address of Gare du Midi

23 Avenue Marechal Foch, 64200, Biarritz, France

Explore More