In the unique setting of the former home of the Dukes of Genevois-Nemours and the Counts of Geneva, explore the historical landmark, the museum, and changing displays. The Château d'Annecy, recognized as a historic monument in 1959, served as the Counts of Geneva's home during the 13th and 14th centuries. The castle's distinctive appearance was created over the following two centuries by additional construction, which combined an elegant design with defensive medieval architecture influenced by the Ile de France castles. It was utilized as a military barracks until 1947 after it was abandoned as a home in the 17th century.
From the thirteenth through the sixteenth century, the castle shows the development of a noble residence. A simple keep was presumably replaced by the Queen's tower, which was constructed in a dominating position concerning the castle gate. The original house in the main wing's center demonstrates how a huge room on top of a cellar with columns evolved into a large room atop a room with a stove. Beyond that, the Perrière mansion serves as a significant turning point in the 15th-century building. The Logis Nemours presented the French Renaissance style that was emerging in Île-de-France in about the year 1535.
In 1953, the castle was purchased by the City of Annecy from the Ministry of the Armed Forces. Three years later, the inaugural exhibition at the museum was opened. Since then, the museum has offered temporary exhibits and collections on medieval sculpture, landscape paintings, local heritage, lake archaeology, modern art, and animated film to visitors.
Place du Chateau, 74000, Annecy, France
read more